The Daylily
The Daybird Sessions
A Blessing for Peace: Shalom Rav
2
0:00
-5:34

A Blessing for Peace: Shalom Rav

The Daybird Sessions: Ep 6
2

Usually my wife

and I do these audio newsletters for my paid readers, but we are a Jewish family, and with the so-called “National Day of Hate” that took place over the weekend and rising threats and acts of antisemitic violence happening all over the country, it felt important to us to offer this blessing to anyone willing to receive it.

Shalom Rav is a Jewish blessing for abundant peace, one which we often recite at the beginning of Shabbat. I composed my poem, Shalom Rav, based on this prayer. Grant us peace. It was recently published in the Michigan Jewish History Journal. Alex’s song, also Shalom Rav, was written specifically for our Temple back in Nashville, and has since taken on a life of its own. You can hear her produced version, featuring the beautiful harmonies of Casey Breves, wherever you listen to music. But today, what we bring you is our tired, honest voices exactly as they are.

We are sad. Often at a loss, perplexed, angry. Scared. Wishing badly to get out of this place, which seems to be growing more violent by the day. Wishing even more that the place we call home would allow itself to be transformed into somewhere I’m proud and confident to raise our Jewish child. Our Jewish child, who asks Alex to sing Shalom Rav to him every night before bed.

Prayers are, of course, generally associated with God, or something like God. But today, as you listen, my prayer is to you. I believe we are where this begins.

Please, give us peace.

Share


TRANSCRIPT

Alex Blue:
Hi, I’m Alex Blue.

t.r.h. blue:
And I’m t.r.h. blue.

AB:
And welcome to The Daybird Sessions.

This is Episode 6. Both pieces are titled Shalom Rav and are based on the Jewish blessing for peace.


TB:

Shalom Rav

Give us peace.

Not an ignorant peace,
nor a winner’s one.
I do not want a bliss
built on the back of another,
no matter what they think of me.
I don’t believe we will ever all agree.
Yes, if there was an easy peace,
I imagine we’d have found it by now.

Whatever you call the lifeforce,
be it God, spirit, holiness, humanity,
do you remember it connects us all?
We are each putting roots in the dirt,
sprouting from the ground that’s borne us,
growing together, green
and grateful for the lengthening days,
sticking our noses straight into sunlight,
sharing space, sharing air,
sharing earth.

Give us peace.

Nothing alike are the trees and the sparrows,
the moss and the badger,
the snake and the bluebell.
What do they have in common aside from
the woodlands they call home?
And, oh, then just alike are they—
lives that, in this beautiful world,
only wish to keep on living.

It is to you now, yes, you now, I pray:
Give us peace.


AB:

[Singing]

Shalom rav al Yisrael amcha
Shalom rav al Yisrael amcha
Tasim l’olam

Ki atah hu Melech Adon
L’chol hashalom
Hashalom

Shalom rav al Yisrael amcha
Shalom rav al Yisrael amcha
Tasim l’olam

V’tov b’einecha
L’vareich et amcha Yisrael
B’chol eit uv’chol shaah
Bish’lomecha
V’tov b’einecha
L’vareich et amcha Yisrael
B’chol eit uv’chol shaah
Bish’lomecha

Shalom rav al Yisrael amcha
Tasim l’olam
L’olam
Amen


AB:
This has been The Daybird Sessions. Thanks so much for listening.

TB:
You can support me, t.r.h. blue, by signing up for my weekly newsletter, The Daylily, and purchasing prints of my poetry at www.notesontheway.com, and by sharing my work with your friends.

AB:
You can support me, Alex Blue, by listening to my music wherever you listen to music, and by joining me on Patreon at patreon.com/imalexbluenow.

TB:
Thanks, and see you next month!

Share

Leave a comment

2 Comments
The Daylily
The Daybird Sessions
A pairing of poetry and music, intentionally curated with the hope that listening to one art form will draw more meaning out of the other.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
torri blue
Alex Blue